IN HONOR OF MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS MONTH 2024 COLLECTION

Suicide: The Monster We Dismiss, The Lives We Lose

“When you feel like giving up, remember why you held on for so long in the first place.” — Anonymous

Shea Johnson
9 min readMay 4, 2024

--

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

The Silent Struggle

It’s been sometime now that I’ve been open and honest with close friends and family about my struggles with suicide. Before, I would only share my suicidal thoughts when I was in a tough situation, crying on the phone or in front of someone. I wasn’t sharing it on purpose and was, in fact, embarrassed by it.

Confiding in Others

Throughout my life, I’ve confided in ex-boyfriends about my struggles. One of them was compassionate, while another called me weak, saying that my life would be hard and that being suicidal indicated that I was a “weak person.

A butter knife, designed with a blend of semi-abstract and artistic elements while maintaining recognizable features (Photo by ChatGPT/Dall-E/Author)

The Butter Knife Incident

I first expressed my desire to end my life when I was 13 years old.

--

--

Shea Johnson

AI Enthusiast & Business Consultant - I write to share my personal experiences and resources with entrepreneurs Linktree: https://linktr.ee/MsSheaJohnson